United Nations General Assembly - Disarmament and International Security

The Disarmament and International Security Committee is the First Committee of the United Nations General Assembly, dealing with disarmament and threats to international peace and security.

Co-Chairperson: Sanat Puri
Co-Chairperson: Karan Pawani

Agenda: Implementation of the Declaration of the Indian Ocean as a Zone of Peace
Research Binder

Commission on the Status of Women

The Commission on the Status of Women (CSW) is the principal global intergovernmental body exclusively dedicated to the promotion of gender equality and the empowerment of women.

Chairperson : Vasudha Dixit
Vice-Chairperson: Sameeksha Chauhan

Agenda: Challenges and opportunities in achieving gender equality and the empowerment of rural women and girls
Research Binder

Commission on Narcotic Drugs

The Commission on Narcotic Drugs (CND) reviews and analyzes the global drug situation, considering the interrelated issues of prevention of drug abuse, rehabilitation of drug users and supply and trafficking in illicit drugs. It takes action through resolutions and decisions.

Co-Chairperson : Deviena Shrivastav
Co-Chairperson : Rishabh Mittal

Topic A: Protecting children from illicit drug threat

Topic B: Strengthening efforts to prevent drug use in educational settings
Research Binder

United Nations Security Council

The United Nations Security Council is one of the six principal organs of the UN, charged with the maintenance of international peace and security as well as accepting new members of the United Nations and approving any changes to United Nations Charter. UNSC is the only body of UN that can pass legally binding resolutions

President : Shubham Gupta
Vice-President : Priyansh Priyadarshi

Agenda: The situation in the Middle East, including the Palestinian question
Research Binder

All India Political Party Meet

The All India Political Parties Meet is a simulation of a large conference that aims to scrutinise the policies pertaining to the country. Needless to say, it comprises of the political parties of India. The issues deliberated on tend to be divisive in nature, which should come as no surprise owing to the rich and diverse tapestry that is India.

Moderator : Yash Vardhan Singh
Deputy Moderator : Mayank Singhal

Agenda: Discussing India's counter policy to China's One Belt One Road(OBOR) initiative.
Research Binder

Press Corps

Press Corps is within the Specialized Agencies organ but provides a very different opportunity from all other committees offered at conference. Press Corps delegates will each be assigned a news organization from around the world and work throughout the conference to publish articles surrounding the debate of other committees. These articles can take the form of op-eds, interviews, exposés and a myriad of other journalistic styles. Delegates will get to engage in formal debate surrounding topics related to journal ethics and standards and also get to move outside the committee to try to apply these discussions to pieces based on observations collected by sitting in on other committees. In this way, Press Corps offers a chance to experience many types of committees as well as for each delegate to produce individual products to be featured on the JMUN 2018 news stream.

Editor In Chief: Akshat Mehta
Head of Photography: Rachit Kumar

Commission on Science and Technology for Development (CSTD)

The Commission on Science and Technology for Development (CSTD) is a subsidiary body of the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC). The Commission provides the General Assembly and ECOSOC with high-level advice on relevant science and technology issues.

Chairperson : Rajat Mathur
Vice-Chairperson: Ashutosh Pattnaik

Agenda: The role of science, technology and innovation in ensuring food security by 2030
Research Binder

United Nations Human Rights Council

The Human Rights Council is an inter-governmental body within the United Nations system made up of 47 States responsible for the promotion and protection of all human rights around the globe.

Chairperson: Shivansh Ahuja
Vice-Chairperson: Md. Rakib Uz Zaman

Agenda: Rights of Linguistics Minorities
Research Binder